Fences and Boundaries

In a weird sort of way I feel obligated to own land, to care for it, to not lord over it and force it to fit some sort of strict shape with rows and grids. And in that same breath I can set boundaries without loosing any ground so to speak.

As I start dividing the recent land we now live on, all 16 ish acres, I realized, as I’m stacking rocks, the same principles can be said about dog training. I build my boundaries where it makes the most sense. Maybe it’s the easiest route, maybe it’s not, but I build them where I like because these are boundaries I have to live with. If I decide one day I don’t like them, I alone (or with help from the family) have to rip them out and move them, not an easy or fun task.

Be thoughtful about you’re fences. In my opinion, they shouldn’t be forced upon the landscape but move with it in a logical sense. Clear but natural. Work with your dog in the same manner and most things we become easier for you both to maintain.

Leave a comment